Jay Z To Be The First Rapper To Be Inducted Into The Songwriters Hall Of Fame

It was only three weeks ago when Beyoncé graced us with the pregnancy announcement of not one,  but two babies via Instagram. An announcement that helped set this as a monumental black history month of first evers, and never befores. But just the month approaches the end of its time, the Carters has yet something else to celebrate about.  On Wednesday, the Hall of Fame’s co-chairs, Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, along with its president, Linda Moran released in an announcement that they will honor Jay Z as their first rapper to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame.

“With our 2017 roster of inductees, the Songwriters Hall of Fame moves definitively into recognising music creators of the 21st century while continuing to honour the greats of earlier decades. The songwriters we honour cross genres, regional and even national boundaries. We are thrilled to once more have the opportunity to preside over an event that recognises the convergence of songcraft and musical performance at the very highest level.”

Jay Z headlines an induction group this year that also includes Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Max Martin, the band Chicago’s chief songwriters, Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Peter Cetera, The Motown founder Berry Gordy Jr, and R&B producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. The ceremony is set to take place in the heart of New York City in the Marriott Hotel on June 15.

“To be honest with you, last year we talked about it a lot,” Lisa Moran said, but “our board and community wasn’t ready. This year we felt that they had been educated enough.”

The Songwriters Hall of Fame Nomination Committee consist of 20 music industry experts who decides annually on a short list of 24 nominees, both performers and non-performers, which is then narrowed down to five whom are then chosen for induction by 1,500 voting members. Jay, who barely tweets on his twitter account, tweeted a celebratory message in response to the news of his induction into the Songwriters HOF.

Both Madonna and the late George Michael were both nominated this year as well but weren’t chosen this time.